Standard DBS Checks: Who’s Eligible?

Standard DBS checks are one of the higher levels of DBS check, with their own specific eligibility criteria. But what exactly do the checks detail? And who are they suitable for?

Standard DBS checks

Our guide gives you all the information you need to understand standard DBS checks, so you can get started requesting them.

What are standard DBS checks?

Standard DBS checks are one of the higher levels of DBS check, meaning that an individual must meet certain eligibility criteria in order to obtain one.

A standard DBS check will detail records of any spent or unspent convictions that an applicant has, as well any cautions, warnings or reprimands, that are not classed as protected.

Unlike an enhanced DBS, a standard check will not be sent to the local police authorities for them to add any additional information they deem relevant.

Nonetheless, a standard DBS is still a highly comprehensive criminal record check, with the facility to include details of most criminal history. As a result, only some employers are legally entitled to view this level of information, meaning there are eligibility requirements – but what exactly are they?

What are the eligibility requirements for standard DBS checks?

Eligibility for a standard DBS check rests mostly on the specific position an individual is employed in. For this reason, it’s harder to define the types of activity that entitle someone to a standard DBS check. Rather, it’s a list of specific roles that are eligible, often due to their position of trust and authority.

Below are some examples of positions which are eligible for a standard DBS check:

  • Solicitor/accountant (on entry into the profession)
  • Veterinary surgeon (on entry)
  • Locksmith (member of MLA)
  • Medical receptionist/administrator in GP surgery

For confirmation of whether a specific role is eligible for a standard DBS check, or even a higher-level enhanced DBS, see the DBS eligibility checker tool. The tool will ask a series of questions to confirm which level of check a role is eligible for.

How to request a standard DBS check

Employers whose applicants will be working in a specific position which is eligible for a standard DBS will be able to apply for the check on their behalf. In order to do so, the employer will need to register with a DBS umbrella company like CRB Check Online. The umbrella company will then be able to process DBS checks for the employer.

Once employers have registered with a company, the applicant and employer will need to complete an application form and an ID check.

The check will then be submitted for vetting. Once completed, with the CRB Check Online system, employers will receive a notification via email to advise whether the certificate contains any information. If it doesn’t, then the employer will be able to download a representative copy of the certificate directly from the system. All paper copies of certificates are sent directly to the applicant.

Standard DBS checks: A summary

Standard DBS checks are useful and informative criminal record checks, but due to their high level, applicants need to meet certain eligibility criteria to obtain one.

So what are the key points to remember when looking to request standard DBS checks?

  • Consider eligibility: applicants will need to be eligible for a standard DBS, which will depend on their role. For confirmation of legislation you can contact the Disclosure and Barring Service.
  • Only employers can request standard DBS checks: individuals cannot request this level of check themselves. Their employer will need to do so on their behalf.
  • Use a registered umbrella body: employers should register with a registered umbrella body of the DBS, such as CRB Check Online. Using an online provider often results in quicker turnaround times for checks.

Looking to get started requesting standard DBS checks? Register here for free.

Any questions about eligibility or the process? Please don’t hesitate to get in touch – our support team will be happy to help.